Impossible Soul / Sufjan Stevens

Human Condition 1 (2010) by Isoko OnoderaImpossible Soul / Sufjan Stevens from The Age Of Adz [Asthmatic Kitty, 2010]

It was a tough morning.  I didn’t sleep much that night.  I was anxious about the trip ahead of me.  The apartment was empty, just as it was when we’d arrived there 2 years before.  But it was a different kind of empty.  There were these memories now, in the walls and the ceiling, in the carpet, somewhere.  I didn’t know how to say goodbye.  She wanted to see me before I left.  I’d shaken his hand the night before and stared straight into his eyes.  “Best of luck to you,” I said.  But this wasn’t the type of goodbye that comes with a handshake.  She looked into me as if she would into an open casket.  And I was dead.  The apartment was still warm when we stepped out.  She left to meet her friends for lunch.  I just left.

Image credit: Human Condition 1 (2010) by Isoko Onodera

This entry was posted in Little Brother's Year In Music: 2010 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Impossible Soul / Sufjan Stevens

  1. KSM says:

    This is my favorite track from this album. It’s so heart-wrenching. I listened to it on the plane and I cried. Beautiful choice.

Leave a Reply

