6 Degrees of Glockenspiel: Drumming: Part III / Steve Reich

"Scribble" (2007) by Sol LeWittDrumming: Part III (1971) / Steve Reich as performed by So Percussion from Steve Reich: Drumming [Cantaloupe, 2005]

I was really just getting my own music together for the first time, and it was very exciting. It was a given that I wasn’t going to get a call from anyone at Carnegie Hall or any other institution asking me to come and perform, so fortunately I began to know some painters and sculptors who later became known as “minimal” artists…To make a long story short, painters and sculptors helped me get gigs.  Sol LeWitt bought a score of Four Organs and some other scores. I used that money to buy the Glockenspiels for Drumming.

-Steve Reich

This entry was posted in 6 Degrees... and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

